R: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan #a-zchallenge

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan – Cormac Reilly #1

The Ruin (Cormac Reilly, #1)

 

Summary

It’s been twenty years since Cormac Reilly discovered the body of Hilaria Blake in her crumbling Georgian home. But he’s never forgotten the two children she left behind…

When Aisling Conroy’s boyfriend Jack is found in the freezing black waters of the river Corrib, the police tell her it was suicide. A surgical resident, she throws herself into study and work, trying to forget – until Jack’s sister Maude shows up. Maude suspects foul play, and she is determined to prove it.

DI Cormac Reilly is the detective assigned with the re-investigation of an ‘accidental’ overdose twenty years ago – of Jack and Maude’s drug- and alcohol-addled mother. Cormac is under increasing pressure to charge Maude for murder when his colleague Danny uncovers a piece of evidence that will change everything…

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t – or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Casey. – blurb

My thoughts

Set in Ireland, this is an excellent and fast paced crime novel. I thoroughly enjoyed the plot, the characters and the twists and turns along the way. I read this book very quickly, over just a couple of days, as I couldn’t put it down. Lovers of mystery and crime, I’m sure would enjoy this book.

This is a debut novel, which looks to become an excellent series.

Recommendations

“The Ruin is the kind of book you will inevitably find yourself recommending to every person you know, and probably also that lovely person who makes your coffee. It’s blisteringly good.” – Readings

“Dervla McTiernan gives us a gripping mystery set in Galway. It’s a complicated, page turning story, that touches on corruption, clandestine cover ups and criminal conspiracy. As moving as it is fast paced.” – Val McDermid

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

About the Author

Dervla McTiernan

Internationally bestselling and critically acclaimed writer, Dervla McTiernan is the author of The Ruin, The Scholar and The Good Turn. The Ruin was published in 2018 and is the first in the detective Cormac Reilly series. The Ruin was a top ten bestseller and an Amazon Best Book of July 2018. Dervla was a New Blood Panellist at Harrogate Festival. The Scholar was published in 2019 and was a top five bestseller. The Good Turn will be published in 2020. The Ruin has been optioned for TV by Hopscotch Features.

 

Published 2018 by Penguin Books. Paperback, 380 pages

To keep up with the latest book reviews, please pop your email address in the box on the sidebar. This will ensure you are notified of updates.

Find me here: Facebook and Instagram and Goodreads

Images and author information: Goodreads and Booktopia

© 2020 Copyright. all rights reserved: bestbookishblog.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.